Fleet Nationals Day 1 Recap

July 21, 2010 8:20 pm

Optis at the start day 1The 2010 USODA Layline Fleet Nationals opened today with 261 competitors sailing on the championship course and .  Ian MacDiarmid, Nic Muller and Duncan Williford all won all of their races to be tied for first after the first day of racing.

The day started with a competitors’, coaches’ and parents’ meeting where our event officials addressed the group and shared important information about the regatta.  As part of the meeting the Girls National Championship awards were handed out.

The first warning was scheduled for 11 and the after a brief delay the race was started a short time later.  All day we had winds out of the west with 8-10 knots winds.

The sailors were separated into 4 divisions of a little over 60 competitors each.  Tomorrow they’ll be regrouped again to give different competitors a chance to sail against each other.

All four divisions started the first race successfully under P-flag.

optis on the line day 1On the second race the blue fleet was the only fleet to start under P flag. The tide helped push sailors over early on the first try for the other 3 groups which were recalled. All 3 other groups successfully started on their second try which was under Zulu flag.

The third race was also started under Z-flag for most of the divisions.  Our wind held steady most of the with a slight shift to the right.

Nic Muller (US Sailing Center Martin Count), Duncan Williford (Lauderdale Yacht Club), and Ian MacDiarmid (Boothbay Harbor Yacht Club) all had stellar days on the water.  Each of them were in separate divisions and each took bullets in all 3 races.

Racing concluded around 4:30 and sailors headed back to shore.  Our food vendors J&W Seafood and DooWilly served everyone dinner and that was followed by the USODA Annual General Meeting.

Check out our website(http://optinationals2010.org) for photos, videos and updates throughout the week.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS